Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
East Roxby Football Club

Known as
East Roxby

Former name
Andamooka; renamed East Roxby in 2015


Blue and white


Affiliation (Current)
Far North Football League (FNFL) 1988–2024

Senior Premierships
Woomera and Districts Football League (W&DFL) - 1990, 1995, 2003, 2007 (4 total)

East Roxby

Originally known as Andamooka, the Kangaroos are comparatively recent additions to the Woomera football landscape having been formed as recently as 1988. The following year saw the club taking its bows in the Woomera and District Football League when it almost enjoyed a dream start, making it as far as the grand final only to lose by 11 points to Roxby Districts. The following season saw the Roos achieving revenge in quite spectacular fashion when they thrashed their 1989 nemesis in the grand final by 117 points, 29.19 (193) to 11.10 (76). Andamooka went on to qualify for the next four grand finals as well, but only the last of these, which once again featured Roxby Districts as the opposition, was won.

Since claiming that 1995 premiership the ‘Roos have contested seven more grand finals, losing to Olympic Dam in 1997 and to Hornridge in 2002, downing Olympic Dam in both 2003 and 2007 and losing to Olympic Dam in 2011, Roxby Districts in 2016 and Hornridge in 2019. By contrast, the 2017 season was something of a disaster as the side won just one of 13games to finish fourth and last. There was measurable improvement a year later as the Roos made it through to the preliminary final only to suffer a soul-destroying one point loss to eventual premiers Hornridge. As previously intimated the 2019 season brought a grand final appearance but the Roos were distinctly second best to a Hornridge side which ultimately triumphed by 37 points.

As of  2015 the club became known as East Roxby.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.