Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Echunga Football Club

Known as


Navy blue and red


Affiliation (Current)
Hills Football League (HFL) 1967–2024

Senior Premierships
Hills Football League Central Division - 2014 (1 total); Country Division - 1995-6, 2000, 2011, 2013 (5 total)


The original incarnation of the Echunga Football Club was established in 1911, and continued until 1962, when it merged with Mylor to form the Biggs Flat Football Club. This merged club lasted only four years before disbanding. During its lifetime, the original Echunga Football Club contested a dozen senior grade grand finals, and claimed eight premierships.

Echunga Mark Two was formed in 1966, and affiliated with the Hills Football League the following year. To date, the  Demons have won half a dozen senior grade HFL premierships, five in the second tier Country Division and, most recently of all, one in Central Division. This last flag, which was obtained a year after Echunga had been promoted from Country Division as premiers, came via a 14.9 (93) to 10.13 (73) grand final defeat of Uraidla Districts in 2014. Performances since have been of varied quality, with a high of third place in 2015 and a low of last place the following year. The 2017 season brought a measure of recovery as the Demons won seven out of 16 matches to climb to sixth place on the nine team premiership ladder. A year later they qualified for the finals and were ultimately placed fifth before dropping one place on the ladder in 2019.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.