Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as


Red and white


Affiliation (Current)
Mid West Football League (MWFL) 1904–2024

Senior Premierships
Midwestern Football League (MWeFL) - 1928, 1948, 1954-5 (4 total); Mid West Football League (MWFL) - 1995, 2000, 2012, 2018 (4 total)


Formed as long ago as 1904, the Elliston Football Club has had something of a chequered history, incorporating two extended periods when the club was in recess. The club was also merged with Sheringa for a time. Elliston reached its first grand final in 1913, when it lost by 18 points to Colton. The club’s first premiership came in 1928 thanks to a grand final victory over Kolballa by the narrowest of margins.

Prior to 1968 all of Elliston’s competitive football was played in the Midwestern Football Association. In addition to their 1928 flag, the Roosters enjoyed premiership success in 1948, 1951 1954 and 1955, all at the expense of Colton Wedge. Between 1968 and 1987 they competed in the Le Hunte Football League with a losing grand final in 1976 against Kyancutta the closest they came to winning a premiership.

Since commencing in the Mid West Football League in 1988, Elliston has claimed another four A Grade grand final triumphs at the expense of Wirulla in 1995, Central Eyre in 2000 and West Coast Hawks in both 2012 and 2018. In between their last two premierships they finished fifth (2013), third (2014), sixth and last (2015), fifth (2016) and third (2017). The 2019 season was in stark contrast to many of those preceding it as the Roosters won just once en route to the wooden spoon. In 2020 the MWFL suspended its senior competition because of the global coronavirus pandemic.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.