Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Evandale Football Club

Known as


Blue and gold


Affiliation (Current)
Northern Tasmanian Football Association (NTFA) 1998–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Esk Football Association (EFA) 1926–1983; Esk-Deloraine Football Association (EDFA) 1984–1997

Senior Premierships
Esk Football Association (EFA) - 1933,1955, 1958, 1970, 1974, 1977 (6 total); Esk-Deloraine Football Association (EDFA) - 1992-3 (2 total)

Most Games
342 by Kevin Lewis


Current Northern Tasmanian Football Association Division One[1] club Evandale has a proud and successful history stretching back more than a century. Roughly half of that history was spent competing in the Esk Football Association where the club won its first ever premiership in 1933, beating Bracknell in the grand final by 15 points. The 1950s brought another couple of flags from three grand final appearances, and after struggling for most of the ensuing decade the Eels recovered to produce the most sustained period of success in their history to date. During the eight seasons from 1970 to 1977 they qualified for the grand final five times for three premierships, beating Perth by 22 points in 1970, Cressy by 55 points in 1974, and Bracknell by 7 points in 1977.

In 1984 the Esk and Deloraine Football Associations merged and the Eels struggled for a few seasons to cope with the marginally higher standard of competition. They reached their first EDFA grand final in 1989, but lost to Perth Rovers. Another losing grand final followed in 1991 against Hagley before Evandale broke through to claim successive flags in 1992 and 1993.

Since crossing to the NTFA Evandale have failed to add to their premiership haul, but they did reach Division Two grand finals in 1998 and 2012, only to fall short against Campbell Town by 52 points in the former year and Lilydale by 11 points in the latter. Subsequent seasons have seen them finish fourth (2013), sixth (2014), third (2015), fourth (2016) and third (2017). The 2018 season brought another grand final showdown but once again the Eagles fell short, this time by just a goal, at the hands of East Coast Swans. In 2019 the Eels' bid for premiership honours faltered at the first semi final stage against St Patrick's.


1. Division One, formerly known as Division Two, is the NTFA's second tier competition.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.