Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Fingal Valley Football Club

Known as
Fingal Valley

Former name

1884; disbanded 1996; reformed 1997; disbanded 2000; reformed 2002


Blue and white


Affiliations (Historical)
Fingal District Football Association (FDFA) 1886–1992; Northern Tasmanian Football Association (NTFA) 2002–2014

Senior Premierships
Northern Tasmanian Football Association Division Two - 2007-8 (2 total)

Fingal Valley

The Kangaroos have had something of a chequered history which has seen them endure a number of periods in recess but which has also spawned some noteworthy achievements. Since reforming after their most recent period in mothballs in 2002 the club has gone from strength to strength, with the seniors capturing  consecutive Northern Tasmanian Football Association division two premierships. In 2007 the ‘Roos went into their grand final clash with University Mowbray as underdogs, but won convincingly, while in 2008 they scored a slashing 25.13 (163) to 10.12 (72) grand final triumph over Tamar Cats. Consecutive losing grand finals in 2009 and 2010 followed, with a third coming in 2013 emphasising the 'Roos' status as one of the leading forces in the competition, but less than two years later this all counted for nothing as, one the eve of the 2015 football season, the club was forced to fold owing to a lack of players.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.