Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as
Ganmain Grong Grong Matong

Red, blue and gold


Affiliation (Current)
Riverina Football Netball League (RFNL) –2024

Senior Premierships
Riverina Football League - 1984, 1991-2, 1996, 2004-5-6, 2008-9-10-11 (11 total)

Ganmain Grong Grong Matong

With eleven senior grade premierships to their credit, the Lions have achieved more success in the Riverina Football League than any other club. The all-round strength of the club is further emphasised by its feat in claiming seven club championships, an achievement only bettered by Wagga Tigers.

When it comes to winning premierships the Lions' strike rate is quite exceptional, with their eleven senior grade flags having come from just fourteen grand final appearances.

The premiership victories have often come in clusters, with the highlights being three in a row between 2004 and 2006, and a record-equalling four in succession from 2008 to 2011.[1] 

In addition to their eleven senior grade flags the Lions have been reserves grade premiers once, and have won three premierships in the thirds competition.

Recent seasons have produced mixed fortunes. For example they finished sixth in 2012, third in 2013, fifth in 2014, sixth in both 2015 and 2016, eighth in 2017, third in 2018, fifth in 2019  and third in 2020 on what is a nine team premiership ladder.


  1. The record is shared with Turvey Park who claimed their four in a row between 1987 and 1990.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.