Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Goolwa Port Elliott Football Club

Known as
Goolwa Magpies

Former name
Goolwa Port Elliott

2001, through a merger between the Goolwa and Port Elliott Football Clubs

Black and white


Affiliation (Current)
Great Southern Football League (GSFL) –2024, 2001–

Goolwa Magpies

Prior to their merger in 2001 Port Elliott had claimed a total of eleven senior grade Great Southern Football League premierships, but none since 1973, while the last of Goolwa’s half a dozen flags had been won in 1977. The merged club, initially known as Goolwa Port Elliott (the Saints), but subsequently renamed Goolwa Magpies,  has yet to open its premiership account, or even reach a grand final. However, in recent seasons they have performed relatively well on the whole, contesting every finals series between 2014 and 2017. That said, the 2018 season proved to be enormously disappointing as the team somehow contrived to lose all 18 games contested en route, inevitably and quite emphatically, to the wooden spoon. A year later they managed to avoid the wooden spoon by one place before returning to the foot of the ladder in an abbreviated 2020 season.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.