Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as


Red and white


Affiliation (Current)
Riverina Football Netball League (RFNL) –2024

Senior Premierships
Leeton and District Football League - 1926-7, 1938 (3 total); South Western District Football League - 1952, 1968 (2 total); Riverina Football League - 2003 (1 total)


Established during the 1920s, Griffith spent its first couple of decades competing in a variety of minor competitions before gaining admission to the South Western District Football League in 1947. Between then and the formation of the Riverina Football League in 1982 the Swans were regular finalists, but only managed to translate finals participation into flags twice, in 1952 and 1968. It has been a similar story since the club commenced in the RivFL as, despite fielding many fine teams, only once, in 2003 against Turvey Park has Griffith managed to win a senior grade grand final. In 1991 and 2004 against Ganmain Grong Grong Matong and 2002 against Turvey Park the Swans were losing grand finalists.

The club’s other grades have fared slightly better than the seniors, with the reserves winning two of the six grand finals in which they have played, and the thirds going top on four occasions.

Prior to world war two Griffith achieved three senior grade flags in the Leeton and District Football League.

After struggling for several seasons the Swans made long overdue finals appearances in both 2016 (fifth place) and 2017 (third) before getting as far as the grand final in 2018. Opposed by Collingullie Glenfield Park they came from 26 points down at the last change to fall short by a mere two points at the death. A year later they again qualified for the finals only to lose to Wagga Tigers by 20 points. During the pandemic-affected 2020 season the league coninued on a much constricted basis but Griffith was not among the clubs to compete.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.