Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as
Harvey Brunswick Leschenault


Maroon and gold


Affiliation (Current)
South West Football League (SWFL) 1956–2024

Senior Premierships
South West Football League - 1960, 1974-5, 1990-1-2, 2007, 2010 (8 total)

Postal Address
P.O. Box 6, Brunswick, Western Australia 6224


Harvey Brunswick Leschenault

Originally known as Harvey Brunswick, the club was formed in 1956, and claimed the first of an eventual eight senior grade premiership titles four years later.

The Lions were particularly outstanding during the late 1980s and early 1990s, finishing runners-up in 1989 followed by a hat-trick of flags. There then followed a long period of mediocrity which was finally brought to an end in 2006 when the Lions made it through to the grand final, only to kick themselves out of contention in losing to Carey Park by 4 points. Final scores were Carey Park 10.13 (73) to Harvey Brunswick Leschenault 8.21 (69). A year later the Lions made unequivocal amends when they not only trounced South Bunbury in the grand final by 79 points, 19.12 (126) to 7.5 (47), but they did so after not having lost a single match all season.

The Lions' most recent flag was obtained in 2010 courtesy of a 3 goals grand final win over South Bunbury. Scores were Harvey Brusnwick Leschenault 9.11 (65) defeated South Bunbury 6.11 (47). Since then they have experienced mixed fortunes with their best season coming in 2017 when they were runners-up to Bunbury.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.