Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Hawkesdale Macarthur Football Club

Known as
Hawkesdale Macarthur

1997: merger between Hawkesdale and Macarthur

Navy blue, gold and white


Associated clubs
Macarthur; Hawkesdale

Affiliation (Current)
Mininera and District Football League (MDFL) 1998–2024


Hawkesdale Macarthur

Since their formation in 1997 the Eagles have failed to procure the Mininera and District Football League’s top prize of a senior grade premiership. However, they have flirted with success, getting as far the grand final in both 2007 and 2008, but losing on each time to Tatyoon. The club’s reserves have made the breakthrough, however, as they claimed the 2008 flag with an 11.12 (78) to 4.5 (29) grand final defeat of Tatyoon. In recent seasons the Eagles have been regular finalists but their best finishing position was third in both 2012 and 2014. The last couple of seasons have been atypically disappointing, yielding seventh and tenth place finishes on the twelve team premiership ladder.

Prior to merging with Macarthur in 1997 Hawkesdale had enjoyed senior grade premiership success in the MDFL on a couple of occasions, in 1977 and 1988. Macarthur meanwhile had competed in the South West District Football League since the competition’s inception in 1970, winning flags in 1970, 1981, 1988 and 1995.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.