Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Hay Football Club

Known as


c 1940s

Red, blue and yellow


Affiliation (Current)
Golden Rivers Football League (GRFL) 1981–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Edward River Football League (ERFL) 1949–1961; Barellan and District Football League (BDFL) 1962–1971; Mid Murray Football League (MMFL) 1975–1980

Senior Premierships
Kerang District Football League (KDFL) - 1982, 1992, 1995 (3 total)

Postal Address
P.O. Box 305, Hay 2711, New South Wales


After world war two Hay spent time in both the Edward River Football League, the Barellan and District Football League and the Mid Murray Football League prior to joining the Kerang District Football League in 1981. After finishing fifth on debut the side reached the following season’s grand final where it accounted for Appin by 13 points, 13.16 (94) to 11.15 (81). Further flags followed in 1992 and 1995. In the latter year the Lions lost only a single match all season, to Murrabit, and won both of its finals encounters with Moulamein comfortably.

Since the KDFL was renamed the Golden Rivers Football League in 1998 Hay has tended to struggle, in terms both of results, and of attracting sufficient players to field teams in all four grades. Nevertheless, both the under seventeens and under fourteens have claimed recent premiership success.

The Lions seniors made a rare finals appearance in 2015 ultimately finishing third. Following that they finished fifth in both 2016 and 2017 before re-entering the finals fray in 2018 when they came fourth.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.