Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Howlong Football Club

Known as


Black and red


Affiliation (Current)
Hume Football Netball League (HFNL) 1953–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Ovens and Murray Football Netball League (OMFNL) 1911–1919; Chiltern and District Football League (CDFL) 1920–1952

Senior Premierships
Rutherglen and District Football Association (RDFA) - 1911 (1 total); Chiltern and District Football Association/League (CDFA/L) - 1915, 1937-8-9 (4 total); Hume Australian Football League - 1954, 1971, 1977, 1997, 2002, 2010 (6 total)


Prior to joining the Hume Football League in 1953 Howlong had competed in the Chiltern and District competition and prior to that in both the Rutherglen and District Football Association and the Ovens and Murray Football Association. It reached grand finals in all of these competitions, a total of at least thirteen in just over forty years, but winning premierships proved harder and on only four occasions did Howlong emerge victorious.

The Spiders made a fine start to their time in the HuFL by claiming a premiership in only their second season. Since then, the club’s record has been highly respectable if not quite outstanding, with further senior grade flags being added in 1971, 1977, 1997, 2002 and 2010. Recent seasons have brought fifth (both 2015 and 2016), and eighth (both 2017 and 2018) place finishes.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.