Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Jindera Football Club

Known as

c 1920s

Blue, red and white


Affiliation (Current)
Hume Football Netball League (HFNL) 1933–2024

Affiliations (Historical)
Albury and Border Football Association (ABFA) 1924–1927; Central Hume Football Association (CHFA) 1928–1932

Senior Premierships
Hume Australian Football League - 1946, 1955-6-7, 1960-1, 1963-4, 1975, 2008, 2011 (11 total)


The Bulldogs won the premiership in the first post-war season in the Hume Football League in 1946, and have since added another ten. Two of these flags have come in the last decade. The 2008 flag was won from third place on the ladder, but there could be no doubting Jindera’s worthiness to be crowned premier as it conclusively put grand final opponents Osborne to the sword, winning by 51 points, 20.11 (131) to 12.8 (80). The triumph was a veritable drought-breaker for the club which had last reached a grand final eighteen years earlier, and had not won one since 1975. Another premiership followed three years later when Holbrook were defeated in the grand final by 30 points.

Jindera was especially strong during the 1950s and 1960s. In the eleven seasons from 1955 to 1965 the senior grade side qualified for the finals on ten occasions and claimed no fewer than seven premierships from nine grand finals.

Overall, the Bulldogs have an excellent record of finals participation, and only twice - in 1994 and 1995 - have they finished last on the HFL premiership ladder.

More recently they made three straight grand final appearances: in 2016 they went down by 33 points to Brocklesby Burrumbuttock; in in 2017 they lost by 25 points to Osborne; and in 2018 they suffered defeat at the hands of Brocklesby Burrumbuttock once more.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.