Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as

Black, white and yellow


Affiliation (Current)
West Australian Amateur Football League (WAAFL) –2024

Senior Premierships
Sunday Football League (SuFL) Sunday Division - 1984-5 (2 total); WAAFL B Grade - 2013 (1 total); C Grade - 2004 (1 total); C Grade Black - 2010 (1 total)



The Cougars have a sixty-plus year history with many of the highlights coming recently. After nearly half a century in the Sunday (National) Football League, where they won back to back flags in 1984 and 1985, they were admitted to the WAAFL in 2001 since when they have made their way up the multi-tiered competition to the very top level, A Grade. The highlight of the club's existence to date was probably their defeat of West Coast Cowan in the 2013 B Grade grand final with scores of 5.7 (37) to 4.5 (29). It was actually the Cougars' third senior WAAFL flag as they had earlier finished top in C Grade in 2004 and C Grade Black [1] in 2010. Since obtaining promotion to A Grade as a result of winning their B Grade premiership Kalamunda have finished fifth in 2014, eighth in both 2015 and 2016, and seventh in 2017 before tumbling to the wooden spoon in 2018.


  1. In 2009 and 2010 the C Grade competition was split into Black and Gold sections.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.