Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
South Warrnambool Football Club

Known as
South Warrnambool

c 1900s

White and red


Associated clubs

Affiliation (Current)
Hampden Football Netball League (HFL) 1933–2023

Affiliations (Historical)
Western District Football Association (WDFA) 1910–1923; Western District Football League (WDFL) 1924–1932

Senior Premierships
Hampden Football League - 1940, 1954, 1964, 1969, 1974, 1990-1, 1994, 1996, 2006, 2011 (11 total)

South Warrnambool

In 2006 South Warrnambool achieved the ultimate by winning Hampden Football League premierships in all three grades. The seniors and reserves both won their grand finals comfortably, by 31 and 52 points against Camperdown and Koroit respectively, while the under eighteens had to withstand a somewhat stiffer challenge from Terang Mortlake but still finished 15 points to the good.

The Roosters’ 2006 senior grade flag was the tenth in their history, with all ten having been claimed in the Hampden Football League, where they first competed in 1933. Prior to that the club had spent five seasons in the Western Districts Football League. Between 1924 and 1927 South Warrnambool had amalgamated with Warrnambool City with the resultant club, known simply as Warrnambool, going top in the first and last of those years.

Perhaps the strangest of the Roosters’ eleven premierships was that of 1991, which was won at the expense of Terang in a grand final that produced just 3 goals. South Warrnambool kicked 2 of them, and won by 1 - 2.6 (18) to the Bloods’ 1.6 (12).

The club’s 2006 grand final triumphs came as the culmination of a season that had produced a collective tally over the three grades of 55 wins from 60 matches, which resolves to a success rate of almost 92%.

In 2011 the Roosters, beaten in the previous year's grand final by Warrnambool, obtained revenge - and their eleventh senior grade flag - thanks to an 11.14 (80) to 5.9 (39) defeat of the same opponents.

Recent seasons have brought ninth (2014), seventh (2015), eighth (2016) and fourth (both 2017 and 2018) place finishes on what is a ten team premiership ladder.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.