Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Known as
Hamley Bridge


Black and red


Affiliations (Current)

Senior Premierships
Wooroora Football Association (WFA) - 1911-12, 1914, 1924 (4 total); Gilbert Football Association (GFA) - 1932 (1 total); APFL - 1938, 1952, 1956, 1960, 1988-9, 2004 (7 total); Gawler and District Football League (GDFL) - 1968 (1 total)

Hamley Bridge

Hamley Bridge Football Club was formed in 1907 and after engaging exclusively in social fixtures for its first three years commenced its competitive existence with a season in the Gawler Football Association in 1910. The following year saw it start an extended, and highly successful, stint in the Wooroora Football Association which saw it contest eight grand finals in eleven seasons on either side of world war one. In 1911, 1912, 1914 and 1924 Hamley Bridge brought home the premiership, each time at the expense of Owen.

After leaving the WFA at the end of the 1926 season spent the ensuing decade and a half flitting back and forth between various competitions, claiming flags in the Gilbert Football Association in 1932 and the Adelaide Plains Football League in 1938. After the second world war Hamley Bridge competed in the APFL until 1964, during which times it won grand finals against Long Plains in 1952 and Balaklava in both 1956 and 1960. The 1964 season brought the start of a twenty season affiliation with the Gawler and District Football League which spawned a premiership in 1968 plus two losing grand finals.

Since 1984 the Bombers have once more competed in the APFL and added another three senior grade flags to their curriculum vitae. Their most recent success was in 2004 when they scored a convincing 69 point grand final triumph over Hummocks Watchman.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications


* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.